Tax Free Weekends

Oohhhh….look at what I found while researching the status of our USPS (private or government owned… attempting to settle a friendly family disagreement via Facebook – all ‘facts’ say they are privately owned – dig into their annual report and how their Board of Directors get their positions –  looks government owned to me…)

But back to the latest to catch my eye – Tax Free Weekends available in some cities and some states.  (Full story)

Scanning through the list of what’s tax free and what’s not, I ponder the top tax-free items:

  • Clothing
  • Footwear
  • Computers
  • Computer Accessories

I also noticed that Food was listed as Excluded on some lists.

“But food isn’t taxed”, you say.  Maybe not in your neighborhood, but if I shop at places I can hoof it to, I pay taxes on my food.

I also was intrigued by the dollar limitations placed on some – $100 limits for clothing and shoes was an oft-repeated theme.

That’s fine for the way I shop.   But a glance at the prices of the jeans or shoes your fashionable children are willing to be caught dead in, me thinks the $100 ceiling isn’t all it’s cracked up to be.

And lately I’ve questioned just how much clothing and footwear we really need at one time.

I’m also tired of upgrading to new hardware and software prior to learning how to use all the bells and whistles on the versions I already own.

There was also a glaring omission of “work all weekend and pay no income tax.”

I mean really, isn’t that the tax that taxes us so much?

Ah well, at least the idea has been started and is being tried…

Leave a Reply

