Legal Blackmail

Okay, I had logged off of everything, ready to call it a day, but Yahoo conveniently shows me top news stories when I sign out from my inbox….

How Race to the Top is re-writing US Education caught my eye.

Scanned the article.   Seems some kind of legislation allowed schools around the country to compete in a ‘contest-like-arena’ for funds.   Okay…I’m okay with tax dollars supporting free public education (even though just registering my son for school this coming week is going to cost me a minimum of $150 even before he signs up for extracurricular activities….)

But the following quote by Representative George Miller , D- Calif. , chairman of the House of Representatives Education and Labor Committee, set my teeth on edge:

“These are my best hopes,” he said in May. “You see people doing things that a year ago they said they would never, ever agree to.”

States starved for funds and unable to have control over their local economies are prime targets for legal blackmail, also known as ‘federal funding requirements’.

If you don’t believe me, revisit the legislation passed in 1984 concerning legal drinking ages and being able to receive highway infrastructure funds.  My memory is that Montana and Wyoming held out…at least for awhile.  Wikipedia informs me South Dakota tried (unsuccessfully) suing under the spirit of the 10th Amendment.

My thoughts at the time were, “Okay, we’re old enough and responsible enough to vote, join the army, drive or fly billion dollar military equipment and die for our country, but not old enough to have a beer?”

My thoughts on the matter have not changed much.

**********

I, for one, am investigating and supporting activities that inform and educate folks on the topics of local resilience, community exchange systems and individual rights and free markets.

Cuz when we don’t need your greenbacks, we regain our freedom of choice.

2 thoughts on “Legal Blackmail”

Leave a Reply

