Food Adventures

Years ago, when I first found out about Dr. Weston A. Price and his research, I set about changing my kitchen stores.

Silly me, I did it all at once which resulted in some long days and a very tired me that first month.

Over the years, I’ve gotten into a routine.   Freezers, dehydrators and 7 crockpots greatly reduce my workload.

I’ve modified recipes to get more nutritious stuff into us, but still close enough to texture and taste of ‘store-bought’ my family will eat it.

Four years of making pizza dough, bread and tortillas from sprouted wheat and Hubby still says, “Good, but it’d be better if it was white” smiling at me with a wicked gleam in his eye.

I counter with a “When you make baked goods, you’re free to use whatever ingredients you want.”

Which means all our tummies are safe.

**********

Trying to keep your family fed via the method you’ve decided is good for them is not always an easy task.

When you live within walking distance of four fast food restaurants, it’s even harder.  Add to that USDA, AMA, AHA and FDA guidelines and you are way outnumbered.

Making ‘what’s good for you’ match in texture and flavor what’s been processed to the point of sawdust, then artificially flavored back to yumminess, is sometimes an exercise in futility.

To date, I have located or invented recipes that mimic or excel: Manwich sauce,  onion ring coating,  thousand island, Ragu pizza sauce, Prego spaghetti sauce, Mac-n-Cheese, Digiorno pizza, the sauce served with onion strings at a nearby restaurant, the  pizza quesadilla, twinkies and teriyaki wings.

I have yet to successfully create my own: Miracle Whip, A-1, Ranch dressing or dip, frosted mini-wheats or gummi bears.

Some days, these experiments are my motivation to get out of bed.

***********

When I was faithfully following organic, properly prepared meals 24/7, I noticed a bowl of Halloween candy could remain untouched  for days on end.   Pepsi didn’t really even taste good, nor did coffee.

It wasn’t that I had purposefully set out to delete these things from my diet.  I just didn’t add them onto the grocery list, and after a few months, found thoughts of “Hey, I’ve been good.  Think I’ll indulge some,” was followed by the reality of, “Yuck!  Why did I want this?”

**********

What I crave is a good indicator to me of the health and balance in my body.  When I’m at my healthiest, I don’t even think about A-1, gummi bears or Pepsi.

If I’m not getting good nutrition and sleep, my body reminds me that Pepsi and Coffee are good band-aids.

After a period of ‘first aid’, my body confuses band-aids with long term fixes, and then suffers the consequences.

**********

Many people in my circle have told me, “I don’t have time to do all that reading.   Just tell me I should eat and what I should avoid.”

I use to give advice.  Not any more.   #1 because I don’t always follow my own advice, so I try to avoid hypocrisy.

#2 because I believe the first thing needed for health and quality of life, is making it a priority.

When someone tells me they don’t have time to cook, read or research, then I surmise it’s not a priority for them yet.

**********

I laugh at my own little adventures.   I work hours to sprout wheat, dry and grind it, just so I can fix some yummy desert with raw sugar in it.

I only break my relationship with coffee when my stomach says, “Fine.  I can play this hurtful game too.”

I take extra Vitamin C, so I can continue to smoke.

**********

I’ve given up in the battle for family members to take their lunch to work and school.

I no longer send long articles to other family members regarding the dangers of cholesterol and blood pressure medicines.  I just inform them forgetting my name is excusable, because hey! they are suffering from dementia.

But I haven’t given up exploring.  And trying new things.  And wondering if the caveman cuisine was so durn bad, how did we survive long enough to ‘multiply and cover the earth’.

In short, I take advantage of modern conveniences all the while aware that our current technologies can often give us the illusion of health rather than the real deal.

Off to try another experiment in homemade gummi bears……

Leave a Reply

