Good Manners

So, I’ve taken a break from blogging.  All because I realized we all have our opinions, and most times, the only people that want to hear yours are those who already agree with you, so what’s the point?

But I had to post tonight, because I’ve been aware of a weird phenomena for quite awhile.  Really aware since I found out more folks are interested in reading about my smoking habit than are about pending legislation regarding free internet, food and supplement choices….

I’ve observed when I post something stupid on Facebook regarding either a kamikaze fly in my beer, or how I’ve lost over 200K in play money on poker, I get all kinds of “comments”, but when I post something regarding religion, politics or what have you,

Nil, Zip, Nada, Zero….

Which reminds me again why I’m an outcast ….

I also don’t “do” daytime TV or reality shows….

***********

What is it, exactly?  Does no one else think about important (IMHO) stuff, or are they too polite to talk about it?

Are they afraid to have their first “facebook fight” or do they figure I’m probably drunk and grieving and won’t think about it tomorrow?

**********

For the record, I’m not a Christian… Simply because I believe in order to be one, you have to believe Jesus died for your sins.

I don’t believe that.

I believe Jesus lived and did all kinds of wonderful things.

I believe in a higher power.  I was raised to call this power God.

I believe wisdom to be found in the Bible.

But I just cannot go around professing that Jesus died for my sins.

I figure he died BECAUSE of the sins (wrong thinking) of those who lived at the time he did.

So, because of that, I finally, after 18+ years of thinking about it, had to decide, I cannot call myself a Christian.

Some may call this a technicality.

I call it being true.

***********

Because of this, my loyalties are perhaps not as strong as those around me think they ought to be.   For example, I took a pretty unpopular stance on the whole “mosque within 6 blocks of ground zero” debate….

One person asked me how I could support those who believe the end will come via “a fire to erase the earth” (according to them, Muslim thinking).

My reply?

“Sounds pretty similar to Armegeddon to me.   Isn’t there something in Revelations about fire?”

No, I don’t win many popularity contests.

**********

I would hazard it’s nearly as hard today to be non-Christian, as it was in Constantine’s empire shortly after he “saw the light.”

If you’re non-Christian today, you run the risk of being Un-American.  Or at least in the geographical and social circle I run in.

If it’s not true for you, Congratulations!

***********

It’s not that I don’t believe in Evil or that I am relieved of duty when it comes to fighting Evil.  It’s just that I see Evil committed by those called Christian just as much as I see it in others.   In fact, the worst screwings (figuratively) I ever took was from someone who assured me they were “Christian” as soon as I met them.

Which means now, if someone says that to me, I run for the hills.

**********

So here I sit, a law abiding, tax-paying, organic eating, local shopping, one-car, use efficiency light bulbs, cigarette smoking, non-Christian.

I tell you, life is not always easy on this side of the fence…

Leave a Reply

