Yummy, Nummy BBQ Sauce

This morning I read a gazillion recipes (yes, I’m exaggerating) utilized the ones containing ingredients I had on hand (and feel okay using), combined, adjusted, replaced (I’m a food snob) …

Sauce isn’t even done simmering , ‘blending in the fridge for a few hours’ and I’m Impressed!  Not a heavy sauce (left out the molasses, brown sugar and/or catsup suggestions) this is thick enough to cling with a light, tangy, “hope-I-don’t-eat-all-of-it-taste-testing”,  flavor.

So here’s my clabbered together version.  Thanks to all the cooks at All Recipes and About for their reviews, comments, recipes and suggestions!  Because I so sorely abused each and everyone of their individual recipes, I won’t add insult to injury by listing the individuals whose recipes I didn’t follow but stole an ingredient idea from!

(You know, if I was capable of reading and following directions, I wouldn’t have to do all this work…)

Here it is:

  • 1 cup prepared mustard (used a store brand that is sans ingredients I can’t pronounce or identify)
  • 1/2 cup raw sugar (or 1/2 and 1/2 raw sugar, organic coconut sugar….)
  • 1/4 cup homemade apple butter (mine was made this year from a wonderfully tart apple and raw local honey – gives the sauce a touch of sweet without being overpowering)
  • 3/4 cup Braggs natural cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup basalmic vinegar
  • 2 tsp. black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 Tbl.  dried hot chilis, grated fine (or you can use chili powder  – most recipes listed chili powder – I had dried hot peppers on hand)
  • 1 tsp naturally brewed soy sauce

Mix together, simmer for 20-30 minutes.  Add:

  • Dash of lemon juice (or squeeze half a lemon)
  • 1 Tbl. real butter or coconut oil (or 1/2 of each)

and stir until smooth.  Store in Fridge

I’m not really sure what the lemon juice (orange juice, citric acid, etc. suggestions) or the addition of butter (margarine was  most often listed) is for.   The juice could be for storage purposes, though there is so much vinegar in this sauce,  I’m not worried about foul things growing, even if I thought there was going to be any leftovers…Not!

And I added in the butter/coconut oil because, what the heck?  Gets some good fats into us!  Didn’t really add or change anything to the taste, in my opinion- – (I’ve been taste testing the whole time…)

If you don’t like the zing of fire in your foods, might want to crank back some on the peppers/chilis.   I think it’s got a great  initial zip, with lingering warmth that whets the appetite.   But I’m into spices!

I’m slow cooking a brisket in the crockpot – bathed in red wine vinegar and some spices so the meat absorbs flavor through every fiber and is tender.  Nothing worse than having ‘blah’, tough-to-chew meat covered by a heavy sauce! (At least  in my world.)

I’ll let you know how it tastes when all put together.

Leave a Reply

