A New Look at Education

I usually just post my thoughts and leave you to your own devices  – but today, I’m ardently asking for 15 minutes of your time (reading my post time + watching the clip)

I’ve been dissatisfied with the focus of our educational systems and cultural obsession with higher education for a long time.

Not that I doubt the sincerity, dedication and perseverance of those who work in our educational system.  Nor do I question knowledge being important and  I believe everyone deserves access to knowledge.

I just see how much we are losing in talent and productivity given our current way of doing things.  Many Kids ARE left behind – true creativity and pure brilliance is often disregarded, squandered on the useless and plain pushed aside in our society –  where individuality  is cramped by systems based on conformity and standards for measuring “intelligence” are woefully narrow in scope.

Thankfully, I no longer have to figure out how to explain my gazillion observations to you.

Sir Ken Robinson, via his RSA lecture, Changing Education Paradigms has said it all. ( And in a much more positive way than I probably would have!)

If you are a parent, student, teacher or healthcare provider, I’m Begging You to take 11 minutes and 14 seconds out of your day to watch the above clip.

If you wonder why education is failing, why drop-out rates are increasing, and question why ADHD has become a modern phenomena, here ya go.

School administrator, business owner, stay-at-home mommy – I don’t care who you are, Please Watch.

And I’m asking you to do your part in spreading the word!

Thank You!

Leave a Reply

