Adjustment 101

Okay, I’ve got to confess to someone and since I don’t go to church, You’re It.

I failed miserably this week in practicing what I preach….

Here goes:

I’m at my local store that yes, does get in some of it’s merchandise via truck, but also carries eggs (duck and chicken) from local producers, the gluten-free baked goodies of a local gal, etc., etc.   The owner, who knows me and my world views, asks me, “Hey!  Have you tried some of the goat cheese yet?”

Seems they now carry goat cheese made by a family down in Canon City.   Not true local (like I can walk there) but still in my neck of the woods, a fellow citizen who believes in the things I do, a fellow Coloradoan that is making a living providing the useful (food.)

“Ummm….No…..”

I sort of stammer around, and I’ll tell you why.

When I was growing up, we had goats.  I cared for and milked them.  The milk was good.   I was too young and Mom wasn’t too interested in making cheese – but I remember how good the milk tasted.

Over the past 3 years, the goat’s milk I have tried via purchasing raw milk shares has been…well….it’s been “goaty” – – I can’t really describe it, but it doesn’t taste like I remember it Should taste.

So I’ve become wary…

**********

I’m somewhat ashamed.    Here I tout “Buy Local!  Support your Local Producers!”  and I’m unwilling to try a local, product made by a family farm, because I’m afraid my taste buds won’t be satisfied?   It would have to be pretty durn rank before I could truly justify purchasing  the raw milk cheddar produced in Wisconsin and shipped to the local store before this goat’s cheese.

(All based on what I state my intent, ideals and goals are…..)

So this coming week, I’m going down and buying the local goat cheese.   And I’m going to give it a really good try, because you see, I love cheese.   And it’s my job to make sure those who are close to me and know how to make it,  stay in business, long term.    No, it may not be just exactly what I want, but if  I’m going to walk the talk, I need to learn to love goat cheese, for now.

And if they’re successful, who knows?  Maybe they’ll start making cow cheese, or perhaps, there will be such a demand for local, artisan cheeses, our local appetites will be the inspiration to an even more local-to-us cheese maker opening up shop.

In short, I’m putting my short-term taste-bud gratification aside for investing in what I feel has to happen for us to see a return to health, wealth and happiness in our communities.

So sorry I forgot for a moment that’s what I committed to….

Thanks for hearing my confession.  I feel loads better now….

1 thought on “Adjustment 101”

  1. You know.. the first time I visited Colorado in ’96, we picked up a goat cheese that was locally made. We didn’t think about it much as it was just something we grabbed while on the go. I wish I would have paid more attention!!

    When we moved here I tried like heck to find it again.
    It was really mild flavored and pretty much the only goat cheese ever that I liked… and this one… I loved. I haven’t been able to find it again… but they are out here… somewhere.

    Like

Leave a Reply

