Blood Pressure Machines

In the wake of my stroke, I started having blood pressure issues – normally, according to experts, blood pressure issues come  Before the stroke.  But in my case, it showed up afterwards.  Sometimes my readings are all over the place and the highs and lows make people in white coats very nervous.

Hence, in order to please various health care providers, I was relegated to taking my blood pressure umpteen hours a day – which sucked.    And after a period of rest and healing, supplemented by twice-weekly acupuncture, my blood pressure was under control instead of all over the place and I quit strapping up every few hours.

Until 10 days ago – –

I hadn’t been feeling so hot after my frenzied activity of moving and starting my new business.    I secretly knew that I was pushing too hard and not resting enough, but I truly thought I could push just a tad further without serious consequences — –

I was wrong.

**********

A demand for frequent blood pressure readings was again put forth by those who care for me when I “jack myself up”.   And an interesting thing happened – – little did I know, I had a blood pressure monitoring system all along – – my dog, Oakley.

When I started to not feel so hot mid-day, was also the time she started coming over and laying her head on my lap – – – frequently – – – trying desperately to move me from in front of my computer to the couch.    When blurry eyesight and head pressure indicated I was not getting enough blood to my brain, was the exact time she would keep trying to get my attention, doing a funny little back-throated “woof – woof” while she nervously moved between my desk and the couch.

And, she reverted to her previous, “Ain’t no one getting close to Mama” protective ways – – – I haven’t been able to have company in the house for a week – – guess she figures lots of company isn’t too good for me right now.

This is very comforting to me – I no longer have to pull out a machine, use electricity and wait for the bad news.   I can instead, listen to my dog when she deigns to talk to me.

She’s very disappointed with how many days it took to train me….

Oakley - The Blood Pressure Dog - after a romp in the snow.
Oakley – The Blood Pressure Dog – after a romp in the snow.
Leave a Reply

