Happy Birthday, Universe

This morning I awoke to a timely and much needed reminder from the Universe –

No matter how great the desire is to please another, Tamrah Jo, let it be no greater than the desire to be yourself.

Otherwise ain’t no one happy.

So pleased with you,
The Universe

P.S. Please, Tamrah Jo, it’s why you’re there.

I needed to hear that – especially today.    And over the past 7 years or so, I’ve received similar hints, nudges and love from the Universe.   I’m no longer astounded at just how the Universe knows just what to say, how to say it and when to say – I just gratefully accept and move on with a lighter step.

**********

I had to write this morning, because the Universe is turning 52 – Yup, I’m not kidding.

Well, okay, Mike Dooley, author of Notes from the Universe, is turning 52.   And I had to do something more than just send an email, because you see, Mike and his mom, Sheelagh Mawe, have done ever so much for me over the years.

Mike’s daily notes kept me company and gave me strength while I took care of my dad and watched him slowly surrender to the cancer.

In the wake of my son’s death from bacterial meningitis, I sent out thank you notes to all the wonderful authors and lecturers who had given me the emotional tools to deal with my own version of hell on earth.

Mike Dooley not only personally responded but also sent me a sympathy card so full of love, hope and comfort that I shall not ever forget that man or his kindness, not even in the face of senility, dementia or amnesia –

Sheelagh’s “How Mom Got a Life” was my constant companion while I contemplated the demise of my marriage and asked, “What shall I do now?”

“Dandelion” helped me to remember who I was before service to others and the desire to please turned me into a schizophrenic actress, gracing the stage of others’ lives as whatever role they needed, without ever thinking about what I wanted…or needed…

And I’ve spent many days listening to Mike’s lectures while wading through yet another database or website – he’s humorous, uplifting and above all, he keeps it real – he always manages to meet me where ever I’m at, not where other gurus think I should be…

**********

So, Mike and Sheelagh – Here’s to you on this joyous occasion –

Thank you Sheelagh, for bringing this great gift into the world and sharing your unique talents as well.  You’ve comforted and supported me through many of life’s storms and I’m very glad you’re around.

Mike, you’ve saved my bacon so many times these past few years, don’t know what I would have done without you…

Mr. Universe – You Rock!

*Disclaimer – Yes, I have a TUT affiliate account, but signed up so long ago, don’t remember my sign in or anything else – so the above links Do Not benefit me in anyway other than as a “referral good deed”.   Also, according to the fine print at the bottom of note this morning, Mike is holding one heck of a sale on TUT’s products to celebrate his birthday – products that are already reasonably priced, so what kind of gift would it be for me to also ask for my cut?

I do, however, highly encourage you to take advantage of the Free Notes from the Universe and read the story of how they got started – In 7 years, I’ve never once regretted signing up for them and the payoff of having them in my life has been 10,000 fold….

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Universe”

    1. I was able to go to his seminar in Denver in 2007 – I was so impressed with his upbeat attitude, tempered by realism – –
      He was talking about Infinite Possibilities, but also about probabilities – he said,
      “I dreamed of being an NBA all-star – I was tall, thin….and if I could have run down the court without tripping over my own feet, it’s possible I could have been one….”
      🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

