The Best Loved Poems of the American People

I’ve been thinking about my Dad a lot, lately.   Come April, it will be 6 years since I last spoke with him.   I really miss our conversations.    I talk to him sometimes, but he’s on another plane and apparently, my ears don’t hear sounds from there.

My Dad and I shared a love of history and poetry – after being required to memorize the Gettysburg Address in the fourth grade, Dad decided it was time for me to start working out my memory muscles even more.

He chose pieces from “The Best Loved Poems of the American People” –  a collection of poems selected by Hazel Felleman.  I memorized many a poem from that book and to this day, I still find great pleasure in re-visiting these classics and sharing them with others.   (I was pleased to see the book still in print and available on Amazon – if you like poetry, you can’t find a better investment!)

I decided to start a Best Loved Poems Category and post my favorites – Sakshi Vashist gently nudged me about writing poetry the other day – I’m going to dip my toe in the water by first posting my favorites from those who truly know what they’re doing.

**********

Along the Road

by Robert Browning Hamilton

I walked a mile with Pleasure;
She chattered all the way,
But left me none the wiser
For all she had to say.

I walked a mile with Sorrow
And ne’er a word said she;
But oh, the things I learned from her
When Sorrow walked with me!

2 thoughts on “The Best Loved Poems of the American People”

Leave a Reply

