Toaster Oven, No-Knead Pizza

In the kitchen, I have a very limited and specific skill set – I know how to make excellent risen breads.  If it contains yeast, needs kneaded – then I’m your gal.

I can’t sample green chile and tell you a pinch of salt is all you’re missing for the flavor you want –

I can’t substitute sweetners or seasonings in any casserole, quick-bread or cookie and have it turn out right.

Took me three tries before I managed to make deep bone broth correctly to get all the nutrition AND flavor – (C’mon now – for heaven’s sakes, its bones, water, seasonings and time – how hard could it be?)

But give me a recipe that contains yeast and time, and I’m all over it – – I’ll switch out all-purpose flour for fresh ground whole grains and make it work.   I’ll carelessly add water, flour or herbs to get just the flavor and texture I want.  I’ll figure out how to make it once a month and freeze, so you can set out on the counter before you leave for work, bake 20 minutes when you get home and be seen as the goddess of the kitchen when hubby comes home to fresh baked bread….

And now, I’m going to tell you out to skip all that and nearly make pizza while you either sleep or surf the web all day – -as promised previously, I’m posting my adaptation of  Jim Lahey’s No-Knead pizza dough recipe.

My recipe converts  the No-Knead original recipe to whole wheat flour (from wheat I sprouted, dried and then ground myself).   If you’re sprouting your grains for nutrition/easy digestibility reasons, know that the long rise time of  the original recipe takes care of the issues caused by not sprouting grains before cooking/ingesting.

I added the seasonings I put in my Italian bread, because I’m out of my homemade pizza sauce, but still have some roasted tomatoes on hand.    The seasonings in the dough, coupled with the roasted tomatoes on top will replace the sauce.

It has also been adjusted for the dry, high-altitude area I live in, as well as increasing the yeast to aide it in faster rising ( I forgot to start it last night – so only 3 hours raising, instead of 12-18)

Raw, organic sugar was added to give the crust crispness.

No-Knead Herb Pizza Dough

Mix the following ingredients in a glass bowl:

  • 3 3/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp active dry yeast
  • 2 tsp. fine Sea Salt
  • 2 TBS. raw organic sugar
  • 1/2 TBS. Basil
  • 1/2 TBS. Oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. onion powder

Mix together, then slow pour  2 cups of room-temperature water over:

Mix Dry ingredients, pour water over
Mix Dry ingredients, pour water over

and mix together:

Mix just until fully combined, then cover with plastic and set in warm place
Mix just until fully combined, then cover with plastic and set in warm place

Cover with plastic and sit in warm place – after an hour or so, it will look like this:

After one hour of raising
After one hour of raising

And after 3 hours, when it looks like this:

Ready to Use!
Ready to Use!

it’s ready to split dough into two balls – wrap one in plastic for pizza  tomorrow night and place in the refrigerator for up to 3 days or freeze for future use.

(Remember to let it set at room temp. for an hour or so after being refrigerated.)

With the other half, gently hand stretch or roll out in your toaster oven pan which has been lightly brushed with olive oil and sprinkled with corn meal.  Sprinkle extra flour, if you need to, to work with it efficiently, but be gentle – allow those wonderful air bubbles to stay and keep the dough airy and pliable.

Add your toppings.  I used fire roasted tomatoes, garlic, pepperoni, black olive, mushroom and a mixture of Parmesan, Romano and mozzarella cheeses:

Ready to Bake
Ready to Bake

Bake at 500 in the toaster oven for 15-18 minutes.

Dinner Time - 5 minutes Late
Dinner Time – 5 minutes Late

Ta-Da…

Pour a glass of wine and enjoy!

Now, all I have to do is build a solar oven that will heat to 500 degrees and I’m SET!

**********

Here’s the answers to the questions I anticipate:

Yes, the original recipe worked just fine with an overnight raise, using 1/4 tsp of yeast, no sugar and only 1 1/2 cups of water – but I forgot to start my dough last night, I like the texture of the dough with the extra 3/4 tsp yeast, sugar and extra water better, so that’s what I did.

No – you do not  have to sprout your wheat -or even use whole wheat flour – unless you have severe digestive issues, colitis or celiac disease, you can fix as original recipe indicates and probably not have any issues – but I really encourage you to explore the health benefits of consuming grains in a different fashion.

Yes, I know I’m a messy cook and my oven pan has seen better days – money that could have purchased a pizza stone that will fit my toaster oven was spent on garden seeds – – Someday, I’ll get a baking stone to fit my toaster oven, or build a solar cooker that will hold my ginormous circle stones….

Yes, it did get a tad over done – I was busy writing How-To and didn’t hear the timer for the “Doing” part of the project – it’s still delicious!

Bon-Apetit

2 thoughts on “Toaster Oven, No-Knead Pizza”

  1. It is an interesting way to warm the flour, lol. I used to cover a basin of flour under the quilt and heat the warmer in my room.

    Another question, most of the toaster ovens I found cannot heat up to 500 but only at 450 as maximum. Will it be OK? Or I have to lengthen the cooking time?

    Like

    1. My toaster oven’s only go to 450, as well – Turns out good on the middle rack position between 15-20 minutes at 6835 ft altitude (sorry, forgot to put in the degrees and altitude! 🙂

      I’ve really come to appreciate the no-knead recipes – would love to hear your thoughts on them!

      Like

Leave a Reply

