Verb of the Day – Love

loveFor as long as I can remember I’ve considered Love to be a verb.

An action, a choosing – –

Not some magical thing that shows up and takes me or someone else by storm nor some separate entity that somehow appears to make everything all right.

So my favorite quote about Love should not surprise anyone who knows me:

“Do not think that love in order to be genuine has to be extraordinary. What we need is to love without getting tired. Be faithful in small things because it is in them that your strength lies.” ~ Mother Teresa

**********

Verbs take energy – – they ask for some kind of input from us, rather than a passive ‘sitting here waiting for Good Fortune to show up” attitude.

And so, every day, I must choose to Love or Not.

I’ve found that in low-energy cycles, it’s not so much about not being able to Love at all, as being very particular about what Loving I do – –

Child-Units and Animals come first – – I thought it was a good idea to collect them, so now, it’s my responsibility to Love them, whether I’m tired or not.

Everyone else, well, that’s up for grabs.

I wonder if they can live with the fact that I’m too tired to Love them, right now.  Is all the the Loving I did previously count for anything?  Sort of like a savings account for the rainy days?

On the flip side, if someone appears too tired to Love me, I tend to pull out one of my favorite memories of when they Loved me well – – – the patient listening, flat tire change, heavy lifting or hospital sitting they did when I wasn’t too tired to Love, but too Distracted by my own issues to notice I was being Loved.

The day they showed up with supper in a bag – shoveled the walk without being asked – held my hand while I lay in a hospital bed.

Oh, I have been so well Loved so often – – I can’t wait to have the energy to well-Love others…

But for now, Loving means choosing those small things I can do and doing them as often as I can.

I’m trying to learn how to love without getting tired – –

It’s been a learning curve, for sure…

Leave a Reply

