My Favorite Lines

My recent foray into answering questions for The Sunshine Award made me despair that no one asked what my favorite movies were.  Then I remembered, I have a blog and can write about anything I want…

How is it I forget that sometimes?

So here’s my list of must-sees with my favorite lines.

Two Mules for Sister Sara

“Dear Mary, Mother of God, help this no-good atheist to shoot straight.”

Kingdom of Heaven

“Be without fear in the face of your enemies. Be brave and upright that God may love thee. Speak the truth always, even if it leads to your death. Safeguard the helpless and do no wrong. That is your oath.” **Slap** “And that’s so you remember it.”

A Murder of Crows

“Drink, detective? ”
“Nah. Never touch it. Makes me happy.”

Gone with The Wind

“I can shoot straight, if I don’t have to shoot too far.”

Rooster Cogburn – The John Wayne Original –

“I’ll be damned – she got in the last word AGAIN!”

Ladyhawke

“I know I promised, Lord, never again. But I also know that YOU know what a weak-willed person I am.”

and

“Sir, the truth is, I talk to God all the time, and, no offense, but He never mentioned you.”

Monty Python’s the Holy Grail

“Those aren’t horses, they’re coconuts”

Conagher

“Who gave you the black eye?”

“No one gave it to me, son.  I fought for it.”

Overboard

“I don’t belong here, I feel it, don’t you think I feel it? I can’t do any of these vile things and I wouldn’t WANT to. Oh, my life is like death. My children are the spawn of hell, and you’re the devil. Oh God.”

“But baby, we LIKE you.”

Sound of Music

“You know how Sister Berthe always makes me kiss the floor after we’ve had a disagreement? Well, lately I’ve taken to kissing the floor whenever I see her coming, just to save time.”

The American President

“My name is Bob Rumson, and I’m running for President!”

“Sure glad he cleared that up, because that crowd was about to buy some Amway products!”

The Illusionist

“From the moment we enter this life we are in the flow of it. We measure it and we mock it, but we cannot defy it. We cannot even speed it up or slow it down. Or can we? Have we not each experienced the sensation that a beautiful moment seemed to pass to quickly, and wished that we could make it linger? Or felt time slow on a dull day, and wished that we could speed things up a bit?”

When Harry Met Sally

“Its amazing. You look like a normal person but actually you are the angel of death.”

and

“How long do you like to be held after sex? All night, right? See, that’s your problem. Somewhere between 30 seconds and all night is your problem.”

The Sum of All Fears

“When I asked for your advice, I didn’t mean that you should actually speak.”

“Each day we lose a little bit more of our separate, sovereign ability to determine our own futures… and each day the world comes a little bit closer to that terrible moment when the beating of a butterfly’s wings unleashes a hurricane God himself cannot stop.”

And I’ll close with this final line –

“Our most basic common link is that we all inhabit this small planet, we all breathe the same air, we all cherish our children’s futures, and we are all mortal.”

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Lines”

    1. My oldest son introduced me to Monty Python’s Holy Grail – I never tire of it – my second favorite scene is, “I didn’t elect you king” – 🙂

      Checked out your blog, as well, and enjoyed the visit immensely – I’m so happy to find another artist to follow – You artist types never fail to amaze me!
      I know what I want – I can visualize it – but without a step-by-step Photoshop YouTube tutorial, there is no hope of it ever materializing in the real world… 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

