Started the Reblochon!

While scouting out how to refer another WordPresser who spins yarn to my neighbor, City Girl Farmer, I came across a post of hers I had somehow missed! This is blatant bragging – I made this cheese press from odds and ends from my Dad’s supply room of the chicken house! So glad to see it being put to functional use (even if it’s not super pretty!)

The City Girl Farmer

One of my neighbors kindly built me a cheese press since that is what was really holding me up from making more hard cheeses. The followers are too tall, so I ended up substituting some canned food and a book.   I made a Gouda a couple of days ago which is happily aging for a week before it gets waxed and off to age some more.

Today, I finally found a recipe for Reblochon, which is a cheese I had in France and found absolutely fabulous.  Recipes for making Reblochon are surprisingly hard to come by.  Both the American and French search engines return results on how to use Reblochon in a recipe, not a recipe for the cheese.  Anyway, I found a cheese forum, filled with cheese experts and intimidating information, on which there was a recipe.  I can tell I lack sophistication, so I just thought I’d…

View original post 41 more words

Leave a Reply

