Passion

This morning, while holding a computer training session for a client, I was asked,

“How’d you learn all this?  How do you know how to do all this?”

To which I replied,

“By sitting alone, in front of the help files and support forums at 3:00 a.m. in the morning, for years, tearing my hair out, wondering why what I did, didn’t work.”

They think I’m nuts…

Probably I am – but the truth of the matter is…

I learned it because I was tired of trying to explain to others what I wanted – and not getting it.   Because being self-sufficient to the extent possible, is important to me.

But most of all, I learned it because I had to – just to prove to myself I could.

**********

Today, I viewed an email from another client, sent at 4:35 a.m. this morning (yes, she lives in the same time zone as I do).  She wants to know if I have time this week to help her with a list of projects – She is a whirlwind of activity and catching her when she has time to just chat means hell has frozen over.  

**********

Late this afternoon, I sat, huddled in a chair, bundled like a mummy, watching, as my son and his teammates continued to play baseball in high, bitter winds and driving snow.  With frozen feet, frozen hands and numbed senses that warned I may just freeze to death watching a non-essential-to-life sporting event, I cursed men, sports and the drive that makes them want to play in such bad conditions.

But I had promised to come to every home game…

And they had promised to play baseball for the season…

The game was finally called in the 5th inning, because the snow was thick enough to make it hard to see where white baseballs were …

I also ran into the client who emailed me early this a.m. – turns out, she awoke at midnight, thinking of all her lovely “To Do” plans – and finally got up at 2:00, because she just couldn’t stay in bed any longer, waiting for morning and work hours to arrive.

**********

Passion – it’s what makes it possible for me to stay up way past my bed time reading line after line of code and drives a rancher from his warm bed to check on pregnant cows every 2 hours during the coldest part of a winter night with a full blown blizzard raging.

It’s why some people get up and start working at 2:00 a.m., because they have such grande dreams of things to do, they simply can’t wait for morning to start implementing.

And it’s why teen-age boys who pray for snow days to stay home from school and play x-Box, will stand strong on a winter ball field, catching- hitting – running, while wild winds blow caps off their heads, frozen fingers fumble balls and spring uniforms allow the seeping cold to permeate their bones.

The human spirit never fails to amaze me.

I dream of the day when the passion of farming reaps the same economic rewards as playing ball in the snow.

When teaching children to dream and create carries the same social/economic status as hamming it up for the camera.

That those who follow their passions need never again be a ‘starving artist’.

Let us create a reality that allows everyone to “Play Ball” and earn a living.

**********

P.S. While double-checking facts with my son, regarding which inning the game was called in, he replied

“It was the fifth inning – which is bull crap – 3 hours later, it quit snowing!  They cancelled the game and we could have played…even if it was dark…”

Leave a Reply

