The Stinkweed Update

Thanks to Ronnie Ann for commenting on my previous post regarding should I be a mass murderer and kill all the stinkweed or not?   Turns out what I have  doesn’t look like stink weed, but it IS a water hog!

In order to ease into my killing spree of the unknown purple plant, I chose to work on a small section today, one that contained what I suspect are irises.

As I pulled away the native grasses that had also worked their way into the iris bed, it was tough going – but not with the purple ones.

They were quickly pulled up from moist ground and so full of their water gluttony, I needed only to give a gentle squeeze to have water running down my hand.   It also irritated me that they chose to grow around the irises so tightly, they reminded me of the Goa’uld from Stargate –

Clearing the stinkweed and grass that had infested the previous owner's iris bed
Clearing the water hogs from the iris bed

So now, the fit of conscience is over.   These weeds remind me of a thousand other examples of those who take more than their fair share.

And so out, they go, without me shedding a tear or feeling bad about it all…

(Until the mosquitoes and fleas show up – I’m thinking about trying to plant them in containers around the house doors – to see if perhaps they are a cousin to stink weed and really will keep mosquitoes away.)

7 thoughts on “The Stinkweed Update”

  1. Well…I never thought I’d see myself linked forever in blogdom to stinkweed. Quite an honor for this humble city girl who was once of the country. Buh-bye water hogs. We hardly knew ye.

    Like

    1. Okay – so I’m just checking – would you like me to unlink you from stinkweed? I mean, it could have devastating effects on your marketing efforts…
      Let me know! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

