Vegetarianism and Veganism

I got rather hepped up tonight – – over a post by one who is vegan.  And I started to leave a comment, then realized it was rather rude to do so, in their cyberspace, given my take on the issue – so here’s my thoughts, on my own blog, where I’m allowed both freedom of speech and the right to say what I want without insisting it be heard in someone else’s house….You clicked here, remember?

“I abhor the conditions in factory-ranching/dairy operations – I buy direct from humane ranchers/farmers, but I seriously want to know, are you aware of the indignities done to plants and humans, through genetically modified seeds, fertilizers and pesticides (forgive me, Herbicides, as is politically correct now)?

Are you aware of how many water ways have been ruined through factory vegetarian farming practices?   How many gallons of oil are wasted shipping veggies back and forth across the continent?  Processing them?  Keeping them fresh?

Did you know that plants dance, communicate with each other and form lasting relationships with their offspring and the people who water/feed them?  That my Devil’s Ivy droops if I spend too many days being good?

I’m not  trying to be hateful, but until humans learn how to live off air and sunshine, exclusively, we will continue to be a predatory species – –

And while I understand the difference between the feed lot and the local organic CSA, I still do not see how calling for world-wide veganism is somehow a better step than eating locally sourced foods –  until, of course,  our body chemistry has evolved to the point where we can live off totally renewable, non-polluting, non-god-playing-in-the-laboratory activities- like sunshine, rain and air.

How will any of us (plants included) survive toxic water and unfiltered UV rays?   How will any of us live on volcanic or snowball earth?

(Watch “How the Earth Was Made – the original – you’ll understand…)

And crying out for  those who are not vegan to get with the program is just another ‘Us vs. Them” battle to muddy the waters regarding subjects we can actually do something about NOW.”

I realize we evolve a little at a time – maybe I am a cretin for eating meat… and cheese….and eggs….

But I still really, REALLY! want to know the answer to this…

How is being vegan any less predatory than being a Locavore?   How many people source their strict veganism close to home?   Do all vegans make sure the vegetables they are eating were planted, raised, harvested and processed by those who made at least minimum wage for their labor and travel a minimum of one quart of fossil fuels?   That the plants who fed them felt validated and valued during their short growing season?

I want to KNOW, because the only vegans I’m on close terms with  happily shop at Whole Foods and like outlets year round, and I’m tellin’ ya – Mother Nature never intended you to have fresh lettuce, in December, if you live in Aspen…I don’t care how ‘politically correct, Free-trade” that lettuce is…

But perhaps you or your neighbor has a greenhouse….where and how were those glass plates manufactured, anyhoo?

Thanks – I now await the firestorm that always follows questioning those who wish to convert you….

P.S. – If you are vegan, eat exclusively out of your own garden,  source everything you consume locally, and/or spend all your charity dollars towards providing the poor with ground, tools, education and heirloom seed starter packets to raise their own food,  (because only with heirlooms, can the poor save their seed for next year’s planting/harvest)  then this was NOT MEANT FOR YOU!

P.S.S. This occurred to me while I was furiously typing out my ire…

“At this moment in time, in order for me, you – us –  to live, something is going to die.  We can argue about what is going to die and how it’s going to die, but in the end, the only thing that matters is, did we honor the perfection of that which provided us sustenance?   Did we make sure its time here was as pleasant as possible?

Did we fashion our lifestyles around consumption that allows our fellow biosphere inhabitants their own chance of living and a planet for  our grandchildren to live on?  Did we acknowledge we are all in the circle and not only took advantage of those who fed us, but stepped up, eager to be the next burst of energy for the circle of life?”

That is, really, all I want to know.”

13 thoughts on “Vegetarianism and Veganism”

  1. I was a vegan in my early twenties. For me, the decision to go vegan was more about eating healthy than minimizing cruelty towards animals, although the latter was a factor. I also tried going raw.

    My biggest concern was how my food was being processed and the chemicals, hormones, and such being introduced into my body and the environment. I lasted for about a year as a vegan because I had serious cravings for dairy. I was vegetarian for years and eventually gave that up, too. It just became too overwhelming to be constantly thinking about what you’re putting in your body. And I found myself obsessing so much over expensive meat substitutes that it became ridiculous. I now go with what I feel is a more balanced approached, I eat locally and in season as much as I can and try to avoid highly processed foods.

    Like

    1. I came to the same conclusion as you – I’m well aware of all the arguments for going vegan or vegetarian, but I’ve also looked at how sustainable/resilient my lifestyle is. For instance, I purchase wheat from my neighbors who do not organically farm – if need be, they do use herbicides in the spring – BUT they use their own wheat for next years seed and when I sprout it, IT SPROUTS! So I chose to go local and direct from producer instead of far-trucked in organic which some of what I got must have been GMOed because, it wouldn’t sprout for nothing!

      It’s a balancing act for each person and the more you learn, the more there is to juggle! LOL

      🙂

      Like

  2. What a great rant! Thoroughly enjoyed it – I don’t particularly have an opinion either way, I just kind of eat what I enjoy. Sorry about that! But I loved the rant.!! 🙂

    Like

  3. I think you bring up some excellent points. I’ve gone with the CSA’s to support local economy and because the food taste better. And if it tasted good, the kids ate it – and they grew up loving CSA delivery day! New veggies and fruits each week, along with familiar items. So a win – win! My kids love produce, eat it, crave it, and choose it over junk food. If it gets eaten, it is not wasted money.
    I’m an idiot when it comes to the “carbon footprint” issue. I found this to be helpful:
    http://sarasota.ifas.ufl.edu/AG/FoodChoiceCarbon.pdf
    But we like our animal products also – provided no one discuss the origin of the food when we are eating (my rule.) Everything else is fair game (no pun) for discussion at dinner. And in a medical family…things can get interesting…

    Like

        1. Yes, it is. My little ‘so far and then no further’ philosopher’s heart, though, takes the reasons given for these lifestyles and goes, well, further – – granted, while the human spirit and our capacity for compassion, kindness and heroic sacrifice never fails to amaze me, I still hold that deep down, we are a predatory species, and I ponder aloud if we will ever evolve past that nature, and still survive – – guess this topic was one of those I thought a good ‘pondering’ example of this thought process!

          Like

        2. I’m finding it harder and harder to eat meat these days but luckily, Tara is there to eat the lion’s share of it. Mats, on the other hand, absolutely loves his meat. 🙂

          Like

  4. a couple who blog and are on facebook were in terrible, chronic pain, on disability, I can’t remeber all thir illnesses but they were sevre, after living a rigid vegan lifestyle for almost 30 years. In desperation they slowly added eggs, chicken and finally red meat-all symptoms left. They are well educated, and so appalled by the misinformation that they write and blog about it

    Like

    1. Many stories like that out there… but many who also still swear by the lifestyle – – I just had to write because food choices, like religion, can be bane to one, boon to another…and I just tire of the fairy tale “America – Land of the Free” when it is anything but – – we have so many serious problems to solve, like the rest of the world, but we seem bent on spending so much time and energy on things that I feel do nothing to address the serious problems our world is facing…
      But then, those who disagree with me think their stuff is serious too…
      😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

