Back to Normal – Somewhat…

Today dawned a tad cooler and with a no-wind calm.   I’m down to only 2 other residences/resident critters to look after, since the return of walkabout friends yesterday.   Excellent updates and maps are now established for the Black Forest Fire and I no longer am reading every Tweet to find the links to information – – the relevant ones are bookmarked and I check in occasionally throughout the day – usually when the smoke cloud to the west billows/changes color, or when we get a whiff of smoke.

For the most part – things feel back to normal in my little limited-scope life.   But havoc wreaks to the west and I know many who continue to wait outside the evacuation perimeter, praying their home place survives the hungry, flying flames.

So while I’m grateful to be experiencing a calm-getting-things-done-around-here day, I realize it’s not so for many of my fellow Coloradoans.

**********

My family is well aware of my tendency to not watch the news.   However, when disaster strikes, especially in the form of wildfires – I’m immediately logging into Twitter and following the local sheriff/fire protection district/news teams.    I follow so completely that my news watching family and friends believe me to be insane, as even they don’t follow the event that much…

Early yesterday, after our power was restored and amid rumors the fire was east of Peyton and headed our way, I was also reading EVERY tweet with the #blackforestfire hash – simply because no matter how good agencies get, in the early hours of an incident – or when a wild fire billows out of control – the most up to the minute news you get is from the tweets of those fleeing the area…

However, once the disaster has been playing out for awhile – the feeds start getting jammed — End of the World believers and those who choose to engage in questionable marketing practices start flooding the screen – – followed by outraged tweets, calling for every one to report spam on @I’mUsingThisDisasterForMyOwnBenefit…

Usually, by the time these practices start occurring, the rest of the telecommunications world has gotten themselves established into a routine.   Local agencies have received help from others and enough resources are on hand to provide better and more timely updates.

At that point, I leave the Twitter feed behind.

**********

I was pondering this morning on how often I jump off a bandwagon just about the time everyone else is clambering on.   Years ago, I was informed by some scientific-personality-type personage that I’m the “Early Adopter” character in this particular play.

This means I often latch on and explore the latest/greatest – put it to work and if I like, it stays and if not, it’s thrown out with yesterday’s trash…

Which really explains why I’m always leaving trends just about the time they actually become a ‘trend’…

I’m also an emotional sponge – so I cannot immerse myself into the news of disaster for very long before I must withdraw simply for my own survival.   Yes, I care.  Yes, I keep tabs on the big points – but once I’ve learned what I need to, I’m outta there before my sponginess means weeks of struggling to function in the real world…

I have trouble returning to earth after watching a disaster movie, say, like 2012 – – takes me awhile to feel right in my skin again…

**********

At this time, the offer of room and board to those in pre-evac areas have not been needed.   Which is good for them and good for me (it’s so hot to be cooking indoors – solar oven not built and fire ban means no charcoal grilling, either because I don’t have a nifty fire-safety pit built, either.  Child-unit and I have been surviving off one cooked meal a day and salads any other time we’re hungry.   Not sure if company would be impressed with my current menu.)

Winds today have pushed the fire away from our direction, but sadly, NNW towards more populous areas.   We are blessed that the Type 1 incident commander that took over this morning is the same one who commanded operations for the Waldo Canyon Fire last year – so  he’s already up to speed on topography, resources and those local agency heads he works with.

We are also blessed with the experience gained during last year’s Waldo Canyon Fire.    Yesterday, I saw so many tweets from Waldo Canyon fire survivors offering anything and everything they had to those from Black Forest.

And the current disaster means political and religious spats are put aside while everyone pushes forth to “Git ‘er Done”

If we could just figure out how to do this kind of supportive, cooperating community effort, always, without a disaster occurring, life would be so grand…

**********

I would like to thank everyone in the WordPress community for your offers of rain dances, meditations and prayers – our chance for rain is at 10% the next 3 days – I’m thinking with a little whisper from us to the Universe, we could ramp up that percentage!

CD12BLACKFORESTFIRE__HHR6934.jpg
Black Forest Fire, Colorado – Photo courtesy Denver Post – Click to view full gallery.

Picture courtesy of Denver Post photo gallery – full gallery can be viewed Here.

5 thoughts on “Back to Normal – Somewhat…”

Leave a Reply

