1337 – Revisited

Earlier today I asked why the heck a WordPress achievement button was made for the odd number of 1337 – here’s the responses I got:

“congratulations on the 1337 likes! thanks wordpress, for such random info! just for fun i did a google search and ‘internet slang’ defines 1337 as ‘elite’. it’s official, tamra jo – you’re a wordpress elite!! : ) aleya”

And

“Congrats, you elitist! :)

Uh-Oh….

**********

I have stories about elitists and none of them are good – – so, I decided to re-check the actual definitions of elitism and elitists, which are:

e·lit·ism or é·lit·ism

  1. The belief that certain persons or members of certain classes or groups deserve favored treatment by virtue of their perceived superiority, as in intellect, social status, or financial resources.
  2. The sense of entitlement enjoyed by such a group or class.
    Control, rule, or domination by such a group or class.

 elitist

  1. Someone who believes in rule by an elite group.

See why I’m struggling with this?

**********

Elitism is 180 degrees south of how I feel about the world – Even though I believe this to be a tongue-in-cheek way of saying, “Hey!  Way to go!  Lots of people here dig what you write” – I still cringe at the term Elite.

I have no issues with self-esteem, confidence or satisfaction in my abilities and projects.   I’m glad that what I write is informative or entertaining to others….

I just really, really don’t want to be an Elitist – – so, anyone know the next award level?   Cuz I gotta hurry up and get there before this label turns me into an arrogant jackarse of a snob…

🙂

20 thoughts on “1337 – Revisited”

    1. I must have worked through some of my angst over the whole word thing – superelite didn’t cause near as much frenzy – or else, I’m already infected and the snobbery virus is running rampant! LOL

      Like

      1. Elite is one of those words like eccentric. I was once insulted that people called me eccentric until I looked up the definition. It just means unique, willing to try what is not ordinary. I rather like being eccentric.

        Like

        1. Yes! I love eccentric – both the word and being called it! I struggle with elite because every definition uses the word ‘superior’ somewhere in it – and while I’m fine saying, “This dishwashing detergent is superior to brand x” I don’t like that kind of thinking when it comes to people – everyone has their strengths! 😀

          Like

    1. Somehow, the term “Leet” seems so much friendlier and nice than “elite” – – LOL
      Thanks for posting that link – I hadn’t seen that info yet!
      And I do recognize it as a ‘way to go’ item, I just found myself panicking over the word “elitist’ popping up so much! LOL Funny, the power our experiences can give to words!
      😀

      Like

    1. 😀 – yes, I just had to have some fun with this – mostly to work through the huge emotional zinger that struck me when reading the word “elitist” – – 😀

      Everytime I see that word, I think of the book, “World Without End” – seemed like no matter what the characters tried to do to better themselves there was some elitist Lord or Church leader finding ways to pound them back into their hovel….
      😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

