Anniversaries, Progress, Cursing

I’ve been MIA from WordPress Land.   Cooler weather and a few misty, drizzling mornings mean I’ve been hitting it hard on the landscaping project, eager to make up for all the weeks of missed opportunities while I hid indoors from the heat, some days from 9 a.m. on…

I logged in this a.m. to give a brief update, because much to my surprise, there are folks who notice when I’m not posting, liking or commenting daily…  Who knew?  Thank you so much for checking to see if I was still alive and all right – what a blessing my blogging community is.

Lo and behold, when I logged in, I discovered a notice celebrating my 3rd anniversary here at WordPress.

Three years?  Already?    How time flies when you’re having fun.

**********

My landscaping plan seems to morph daily as I discover natural flora, learn more about my house and the land it resides on and relentlessly ask myself, “What do you really want?”  But, progress has been made and now, the shape and form is starting to be more recognizable by those not familiar with the dream in my head.

Pay attention to the pics – there’s a quiz at the end…

The entire south perimeter wall is now done.   Two days ago, during a cool morning blessed with a light drizzle, I and a helping hand wrangled tires for nearly two hours.  The eastern and western perimeters are now defined with stacked tiers, just waiting for me to lug dirt to them.

South perimeter - eagerly awaiting Passion Flower plantings
South perimeter – eagerly awaiting Passion Flower plantings

After the much prayed for and gratefully received rains of this past week, I’ve determined my block retaining walls must not just cover the west side, but a goodly portion of the south side – that ditch has begun to be dug and I’m eagerly reformatting “The Plant Plan” to adjust for this addition.

Southside - Ditch to be dug for blocks
Southside – Ditch to be dug for blocks

The south side of the western wall block project has been completed and waiting for the corner to be set for the southern run before filling in with dirt and planting.

Western Wall bed in progress
Western Wall bed in progress

I must admit the frenzy of activity these past days coupled with cooling fronts passing through, has me arising each morning in pain.   By day four of cool weather and extra help (which goads me to continue working when I really ought to take a break), I awoke yesterday, uncertain if I could drag myself from bed for another day of labor.

I did, simply because there won’t always be help showing up on days when the heat is bearable and I can’t stand to lose a single moment of either.

As I wandered around my slice of heaven, I pondered upon what project to handle.  Quite frankly, after two days of moving, stacking and arranging tires, I wanted to mess with something else for awhile.   I confess to wandering around, thinking and musing until Ms. Handy-Manny arrived.

I confessed my pain, admitting that I was somewhat at loose ends and not sure where to start the day’s work.  We wandered a bit and chatted – about my dreams, what was going to go where and such.    I told her how I loved lilacs and maybe someday, I could get more for the eastern edge – she gazed and said, “Why don’t you just transplant from the bush you’ve got?”

Really?!?  You can do that?!?

All you real gardeners are free to groan and then laugh at my ignorance…

Since I needed room to maneuver dirt around on the east side, we instead planted a neat row of lilacs next to where I’ll be seeding the grass for me, the wonder dog and the child-unit  to run and play fetch on.  To my immense satisfaction, my lilac bush has been left alone for so many years, Ms. Handy-Manny figures I can get nearly 15 more transplants from the north side this year and probably 20 from the south side next year, if I so wish.

Can you hear the celebration going on inside of me?   I nearly did the hippy-hippy-shake in the front yard when she made these pronouncements.

East perimeter tier and the abundant Lilac Bush
East perimeter tier and the abundant Lilac Bush
New lilac plantings, flanked by two cottonwood cuttings gifted to me
New lilac plantings, flanked by two cotton-less cottonwood cuttings gifted to me

The sunflowers placed in the northern portion of the western wall project are growing by leaps and bounds and I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a late frost with a bountiful harvest of yummy seeds – (yes, I’ll share with the birds…I guess…  Me and the child-unit LOVE sunflower seeds…)  Because of the late planting and no flowers yet, I’m not holding my breath, but still holding hope…

I swear they've grown a foot the past four days
I swear they’ve grown a foot the past four days

**********

I feel as if a momentum has been reached – as if all the weeks and months of planning, organizing and hauling in supplies are starting to pay off.   As if this whole summer has just been waiting for this week to burst forth in productivity and gains.

I can’t begin to imagine what abundance there will be this time next summer…

Oh, yes, nearly forgot – the quiz…

How many piles of F**cking rubble left by the stuccoers and in need of clean-up did you find in these pictures?

11 thoughts on “Anniversaries, Progress, Cursing”

  1. Happy 3rd anniversary at WordPress! Today is an auspicious one with 2 grand water trines – mini translation – time for emotional healing, support for dreams made manifest and comfort, inspiration, and creative flow! May all your metaphorical and actual gardens flourish.

    love, Linda

    Like

Leave a Reply

