Spring has Sprung

After somehow managing to build and launch 4 websites in 7 weeks, one of which was the biggest site I’ve ever done – I’m happily diving back into my gardening and writing plans.

Since you most likely thought I was dead, given my long silence, I shall not further shock your system by making you read a 10,000 word essay on what I’ve been doing since last we met – – rather, I’ll share my 1,000 words at a time with some pics:

Remember the Rain of the Century we got last August?

August 3rd - Rain, Rain and some more Rain
August 3rd – Rain, Rain and some more Rain

The lovely rain meant the weed that turns into tumbleweeds grew like crazy and our area has been inundated with a gazillion of these sticky, spiny, trashy wayfarers.

I’ve hauled off two truckloads to the town heap, as I’m not certain I’m an advanced enough composter to ensure heat enough to kill the seeds –

The ditch, full of water last August, still holds some tumbleweeds even after gallant efforts by me and the boy – we nearly had them all out two days ago, but alas, a few more blew back in –

I swear, we had them down to about a handful left to clean up just 2 days ago!
I swear, we had them down to about a handful left to clean up just 2 days ago!

Remember the purple water-sucking-hog plant from last spring?

It raised it’s beautiful head again this year and has been positively identified as Wild Purple Tansy Mustard. But this year, I’ve won, at least so far.

Growing Green Things
Growing Green Things – 2013
To Weed or Not To Weed
To Weed or Not To Weed 2013
2014 - Nearly ready to plant - waiting for the snow storm due Sunday night to move through
Nearly ready to plant – waiting for the snow storm due Sunday night to move through
Can't see all of them, but have 6 out of 6 transplanted rhubarb plants coming up - Yay!
Can’t see all of them, but have 6 out of 6 transplanted rhubarb plants coming up – Yay!
Put the tiniest iris division on the east side - see my snazzy new solar filter window coverings?  Hoping for lower cooling bills this summer!
Put the tiniest iris division on the east side – see my snazzy new solar filter window coverings? Hoping for lower cooling bills this summer!

The gifts of Daylillies, Vinca and Bishop’s last August are doing fine as frog’s hair, as are my divided irises and the rhubarb I moved from next to the propane tank into the newly thinned iris bed – alas, the wild roses transplanted from my mom’s garden don’t look so hot, but waiting to see if anything happens in the next few weeks before ripping them out. The late-planted, drought tolerant grass of last fall is somewhat sparse, but already making plans to overseed.

See the jungle around the daylillies?  Waiting to clean that up until the poppies come up, so I don't end up wrecking my wild poppy patch
See the jungle around the daylillies? Waiting to clean that up until the poppies come up, so I don’t end up wrecking my wild poppy patch
Bishop's Weed
Bishop’s Weed
Vinca - I failed to put down thick enough layers of newspaper before planting this area - so some weeding to do - -
Vinca – I failed to put down thick enough layers of newspaper before planting this area – so some weeding to do – –
Roses look bleak - Grass needs some attention- but thanks to my new doctor, I'm a shadow of my former self - 60lbs lost since last summer! Yay!
Roses look bleak – Grass needs some attention- but thanks to my new doctor, I’m a shadow of my former self – 60lbs lost since last summer! Yay!

Remember my ‘shade the west wall with plants’ idea from last summer?  Well, last fall I ordered Jerusalem artichokes and wandered around my place trying to figure out where to plant them – they get tall, are perennial and die back in winter – and finally smacked myself in the forehead and said, “West Side!”   Although I’ve never grown them, I believe they are starting to poke their heads out, because the same looking leaves are poking out in carefully measured spots

I hope these are the Jerusalem Artichokes - if not, a new weed has learned to grow 12 inches apart in tidy rows....
I hope these are the Jerusalem Artichokes – if not, a new weed has learned to grow 12 inches apart in tidy rows….

Of the plants I foolishly purchased on my way to the doctor last fall, only to discover I had pneumonia, not many have made it – or at least don’t look like they have – the Wooly Thyme and Cascading Snow are looking pretty bleak –

WoolyThyme
WoolyThyme
CascadingSnow
CascadingSnow

However, Mystery Plant 1 and 2 are doing awesome – and yes, I will buy a permanent marker and plant ID stakes so I can remember what I’m planting this year:

Some kind of succulent and good for something, else I wouldn't have bought it!
Some kind of succulent and good for something, else I wouldn’t have bought it!
I purchased a couple Appleblossom Yarrow plants - is this one of them?  Heck if I know!
I purchased a couple Appleblossom Yarrow plants – is this one of them? Heck if I know!

While working last weekend, the ladybugs deigned to visit me when I was worn out and wondering, once more, if I’m doing things right and will Mother Nature bless my endeavors?   No pics of them, I was too tired to go get the camera, but while snapping pics this a.m., my friend, the Robin was nice enough to pose:

He always shows up when I need encouragement!
He always shows up when I need encouragement!

And last, but not least, the pretty, native to my place groundcover that blooms with beautiful purple stalks in July – I carefully kept every area of it and it is coming along nicely

Don't know what it is, but it's pretty, likes it here and plays nice with others - a keeper.
Don’t know what it is, but it’s pretty, likes it here and plays nice with others – a keeper.

Stay tuned for the great Strawberry Invasion…

 

4 thoughts on “Spring has Sprung”

    1. And still so many, many square feet to turn from rampant weed patches (with hidden gems within them, sometimes) into lush garden areas – – ah well – keeps me from getting into trouble! LOL

      Like

    1. Oh, yes, How Much It Is! I feel as if I’ve survived a triathalon these past months – but eager to start working on landscaping projects again – Although, will find out next Tuesday if I have another website job….Don’t these folks know Summer is for Gardening? LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

