Colorado Trip – Day 1

As promised, I’m posting highlights of the awesome trip my best friend and I took in July – Who’s my best friend, you ask?  My mom – She knows me, knows my history, knows how I’ve stumbled and fell and still loves me just the same – Unconditional love is learned at the knee of your mother – if you’re lucky – –

Black Canyon of the Gunnison

Pictures will never do justice to any of the places we visited, but perhaps, I can share just a slice of the wonder of this place:

1st pic snapped at first pull off - check out the interesting tree art
1st pic snapped at first pull off – check out the interesting tree art
Next Stop - Visitor Center and Overlook
Next Stop – Visitor Center and Overlook
Overlook rails put on top of bare rock - what a view, but watch your step!
Overlook rails put on top of bare rock – what a view, but watch your step!
Do Not Attempt if Afraid of Heights
Do Not Attempt if Afraid of Heights
Really? 8 stops and average of a football hike?  You're making me work for this?
Really? 8 stops and average of a football field hike at each one? You’re making me work for this? It’s Cool- Totally worth it!
Not the pulpit, but thought the natural Pew seat was more interesting....
Not the pulpit, but thought the natural Pew seat was more interesting….
Home Sweet Home....
Home Sweet Home….

Oops! No photo from Devil’s Overlook, which should have been the crowning glory of pics – – Alas, half way down the trail, all bird and small animal chatter goes dead silent, no people voices, and rustling in the bushes up off the trail – – near dusk – – visceral reaction that had the hairs standing up on the back of my neck and my tummy churning – started back up trail and asked Mom to stay behind me (though what I could have done is in question…and she complained it’s hard to stay behind me when I’m walking away from her so fast… 🙂 )

Back at car, I analyzed my response – all I could hear was my ole Dept. of Wildlife friend saying, “If the chatter stops, a predator is near” and “Mountain Lions are most active early morning and around dusk” – – Having previously viewed a mountain lion in my back yard in the early morn, I’m willing to give them space and admire from a distance.

Whether my inner self saved us or I’m a coward, I know not – I’d do the same thing again, even if it means I missed the view of a lifetime…and Mom’s disappointment because it was what she most wanted me to see…

Second to the Last Stop on South Rim route - Neither Words nor pictures can describe
Second to the Last Stop on South Rim route – Neither Words nor pictures can describe
Hayfields being irrigated at dusk - I Love My Farmer Brother
Hayfields being irrigated at dusk – I Love My Farmer Brother

Ute Indian Museum

I did not take pictures here, as I wasn’t sure if it was okay or not – plus, I was too busy experiencing it to think to ask or take out my camera!

Museum is located in the heart of original homestead of Chief Ouray and his wife, Chipeta.

If you’re in the area, make this stop a Must See.

10 thoughts on “Colorado Trip – Day 1”

        1. All right, but you’re driving Red Mountain Pass with the crazy tourists that swerve out of their lane – maybe you can jump our bike over them – – LOL – stay tuned for that story…. 🙂

          Like

Leave a Reply

