Colorado Trip – Day 2 – To Telluride

Just so happens, if you turn off to the right at main Ridgway intersection to see True Grit’s movie location, you are on the road to the Dallas Scenic byway and, with one left turn a few miles on, through a beautiful drive I couldn’t safely stop to take pictures of, you’re on your way to Telluride.

 

Dallas Divide/Scenic Byway
Dallas Divide/Scenic Byway
Check out that wonderful fence!
Check out that wonderful fence!

Along the way to Telluride, if you’re paying attention, there is a brown sign for a County Park – stop by, eat your picnic lunch, walk through and admire their native plant gardens, the little pond and the creek –

What Losing Gamblers Actually Pay For - Worth It!
What Losing Gamblers Actually Pay For – Worth It!
Little pond at park
Little pond at park

Nope, don't know what creek, but still awesome!

Native Plants - Yarrow everywhere!
Native Plants – Yarrow everywhere!

Outside of Ridgway and near Telluride, you’ll see signs for Last Dollar Road – a beautiful shortcut we didn’t take because most of it requires 4WD – Next Year!

Mom’s friends had told her she simply had to see Telluride, that it was their favorite mountain town, etc., etc.Β  As I pulled into the outskirts, I was disappointed – the townhomes/condo lodges at the edge for the ski trade convinced me it was just like all the other ski towns – but as we traversed the main street, I was in for a pleasant surprise…

The Real Telluride
The Real Telluride
Flowers, Flowers and restored historic homes
Flowers, Flowers and restored historic homes

Telluride on my list of places to spend some time in, to explore and really get to know the history.

We aren’t even through Day 2 and I’m pooped resizing photos – Next up – Ouray and the Box Canyon Water Falls

πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Colorado Trip – Day 2 – To Telluride”

  1. Thank you for this trip to Colorado. My wife and I had planned to be out there this month for ten days, but “stuff” got in the way and we didn’t make it. Thanks to your blog, I am getting a little slice of it!!

    Like

    1. I still have the afternoon of Day 2 and days 3, 4 and 5 to do, but work exploded and got in the way – hopefully get them done this weekend! Sorry your trip didn’t pan out – I’ve spent 30 years trying to get to Mesa Verde and it finally happened! πŸ™‚

      Like

    1. Typos fixed, thanks for bringing to my attention – and my ‘itinerary/road map’ I printed off for the journey didn’t show every waterway name – my natural propensity to get lost in the moment and forget to snap a picture of the sign, so I can later remember and properly caption photos is a shortcoming, I admit – but not sure why my errors should offend you so –

      Next time, maybe you can assume I have good intentions, even if execution falls short of perfection.

      Like

Leave a Reply

