Why Writers Rarely Prosper

I’m on break –

From those activities  that  earn a living today –

Dragged kicking and screaming back to Facebook,

Because a customer wanted a page maintained by me,

I do what is necessary, and log out –

And over to  WordPress –

To see what I’ve missed,

As I’ve still not recovered from the shock of a new phone,

And have yet to install the WP App –

What if someone was nice and visited?

Once here,

Do I catch up on my friend’s doings?

No – –

I clicked to view an old post,

To reply sensibly to a recent comment because –

Just what, pray tell, did I think and say, back then?

Has my perspective changed?

Has knowledge then, been refuted now?

No – I can reply easily – it was just my opinion –

And from that old post, duty done, I clicked back through my own related posts –

For two seconds, I’m going to see if what I wrote then has any meaning now –

And relive my recent life through my words –

Time travel, you could say –

The me from a year ago,

3 months ago,

3 years ago

I find myself nostalgic for the days when I woke up

And safely nestled in my jammies –

Seated myself in front of my screen –

And strung words together for hours at a time – –

When manuscripts were dutifully organized and revised and saved –

Characters renamed, because really, Ureenia is so close to Urine…

The time when the secret treasure of words, if  held on long enough,

Would turn to gold.

I ache to earn my living from writing, instead of that which I do now –

So much easier!

So much more in tune with who I am…

And yet,

The voice within whispers, “It’s not ready yet…”

And I close my Scrivener window,

Arguing with myself –

Will I ever heal enough to publish this?

Will  my masterpiece ever be pronounced, “Finished”?

And dutifully, I open my time tracker,

To tick-tock while I write content for someone else’s website that goes live next week,

And wonder –

When? When will my heart’s desire be good enough to bill for next week?

🙂

25 thoughts on “Why Writers Rarely Prosper”

  1. It seems to me reading backwards you have more than faced the past and pressing that Publish Button is a great step forward. Looking back on the past .. Forgiveness, well I am still working my way through that one.. If we were Saints, we wouldn’t be here in our Earth experience.. I smiled as I read through your comment responses Tamrah, I know your strength and the way you view Life will see you overcome your obstacles with a smile.. Big hugs to you, as you step ever upwards.. xx

    Like

  2. Lovin this post Girl! I find you’ve changed, moved on in some way. I feel you are more lively, upbeat, open to life, determined and confident.
    Just go on with your doings and your non doings will find a way into your life, and it will transform into what you are dreaming of. A wise soul wrote a profound truth that changed many things for me: ‘we rarely get what we want but we always get what we need’ 🙂 .
    Listen to that inner voice that says it’s not the time yet…
    And I also find you not changed, your delicious humor and healthy sarcasm, wittiness and vulnerability. You know, all these wonderful things that make you TammyJo I ❤ xox

    Like

    1. Hi Shamanic! I’ve not changed much at all – getting ready to hit “Publish” button – – be sure to check it out –
      But, I have changed – I’m returning to myself – right or wrong, I used to be a “Go for the Gusto” – been dealing with Fear and Forgiveness Issues – Got pushed so far, realized nothing left to fear, and now working on the Forgiveness portion – LOL – but got my message from the gods via Facebook this evening – –
      “The first step in Forgiveness is realizing the other person is bat-sh@t crazy” – and honest to gawd, I burst out laughing, thinking – that works for me, for now – instead of, “oh…that’s not nice….” ! 🙂

      Like

  3. Computer problems have me off FB at present apart from the automatic posts… I miss the few friends I really talk to there…

    But on your original thought, I’d just settle for making a living from any of the work I do… 🙂

    Like

    1. WE will get there, Sue – just touch the magic blue stones – I’m sure that will help! …or wait, maybe the dancing maidens? LOL – I’ll kiss the Sandy here, for us both! 🙂

      Like

        1. I presume you’re traveling to speak to the ‘wee” ones, while kissing the blarney stone? LOL – – I love Scarlett – I’m thinking maybe the High Kings of Tara might be available – can you swim across the pond and take care of that? 🙂

          Like

        2. I will be there next summer and we’ll go together – I already have it on the cork board over my desk – “Go Visit Sue” It’s gonnna happen – my goosebumps tell me so! 🙂

          Like

    1. Me thinks we are treading the same water – or at least in the same area of the ocean – – – and I started Weed Therapy, planned to buy when I could afford and got so busy working, forgot to go purchase – went to look tonight and found post it was no longer for sale – so, if I PayPal ya, can I get a copy? I’ve done proposals, but told ’em no can do until mid-October – I need a reading/writing break! 🙂

      Like

    1. LOL – the FB thing was purely customer service driven, but, on the plus side, reconnected with a favorite chum from high school who posted a pic with something I soooo needed to hear:

      “Forgiveness often starts with realizing the other person is bat-s@#t crazy”

      And I was instantly drawn back to the days of my youth when all she had to do is say something and I was laughing hysterically – –

      So, I confess, I resisted, but it does have it’s good points (as soon as you scroll past all the posts that make you think, “WTF?” 🙂

      Like

      1. OH yes I see those too and then there my mom on there writing on people’s wall your personal business. My daughter said Mom Gma keeps posting on my wall should I block her?? NO do not block your Gma then she will stalker call me. LOL

        I like that you connected and it was a good memory for you! That is always wonderful.
        I admit I do have cousins that I love seeing their little kids photos but other then that I do stay away I use that to post all my photos they can like it or not I’m over here with all these wonderful folks! But more friendly crowd for me I loved that you said exactly how I feel! Good night I loved your post.

        I’ll be back for sure! 😀

        Like

        1. So glad to meet you and I’ll swing over and visit you too! I’m so behind on my Reader, both of old friends and new found ones!

          I love it here, too – there’s such a depth and sense of community – I boycotted FB in 2010 and then had to recant, here when I rejoined – LOL – but really, the community here beats FB hands down – no wait, beats with both hands tied behinds it’s back – LOL
          Thanks for your visit and look forward to visiting your slice of cyberspace and getting to know you better – (promise not to stalk you on FB – LOL)

          Like

        2. We used to add ‘and don’t let the bed bugs bite’ until there was an outbreak of them a few years back, now you never hear anyone say it ! LOL

          Like

        3. Several folks in this community totally shocked by their infestation – did break down some myths – – like “only poor, white trash get bed bugs….” LOL – Sorry for folks, but happy to see folks understanding their prejudices – LOL

          Like

Leave a Reply

