The Cowboy’s Prayer

Tonight I was reminded of a framed print a former boss gave to me that is still in storage –

(I like to live somewhere for at least 3 years before actually hanging art on the walls)

I’m not a big fan of organized religion – I’ve seen too many people get hurt when they put their faith in another’s description of how the Universe works – But tonight, I was thinking of my former boss who resigned his job to care for his wife when she was diagnosed with M.S. – – the boss who didn’t tell anyone until his last day — the boss who drove up to the new job I had started when he was unable to talk me into staying and playing the politics game – –

The boss that brought in the picture and said, “I want you to have this, because you always read it whenever you came to my office and had to wait.”

I don’t know where he is or what he is doing now – It’s been nearly 20 years since last I saw him – I still do not know why I was given such a beautiful piece of art – but I think of it often and always wonder just what I did to deserve such a gift

We often impact others in profound ways that we are unaware of – And I guess, tonight, I’m thinking of the folks who have made such a difference in my life and wonder, do they know?  Would they be surprised if I drove for an hour to give them a picture I owned,  that they had admired?

**********

The Cowboy’s Prayer

Oh Lord, I’ve never lived where churches grow.
I love creation better as it stood
That day You finished it so long ago
And looked upon Your work and called it good.

I know that others find You in the light
That’s sifted down through tinted window panes,
And yet I seem to feel You near tonight
In this dim, quiet starlight on the plains.

I thank You, Lord, that I am placed so well,
That You have made my freedom so complete;
That I’m no slave of whistle, clock or bell,
Nor weak-eyed prisoner of wall and street.

Just let me live my life as I’ve begun
And give me work that’s open to the sky;
Make me a pardner of the wind and sun,
And I won’t ask a life that’s soft or high.

Let me be easy on the man that’s down;
Let me be square and generous with all.
I’m careless sometimes, Lord, when I’m in town,
But never let ‘em say I’m mean or small!

Make me as big and open as the plains,
As honest as the hawse between my knees,
Clean as the wind that blows behind the rains,
Free as the hawk that circles down the breeze!

Forgive me, Lord, if sometimes I forget.
You know about the reasons that are hid.
You understand the things that gall and fret;
You know me better than my mother did.

Just keep an eye on all that’s done and said
And right me, sometimes, when I turn aside,
And guide me on the long, dim, trail ahead
That stretches upward toward the Great Divide.

-Badger Clark

12 thoughts on “The Cowboy’s Prayer”

  1. This is such a lovely story… You are right we often do not know or see the impact we have on another.. You must have impacted upon your previous long time boss for him to gift you the art.. And he on you to remember him ..
    I can see why you would re read the words of the Cowboy’s Prayer.. Great poem, I am sure many can relate to…

    Have a wonderful weekend … Hugs Sue Oh and I got this update in the reader, 🙂 but not in my email still.. but At least I caught this one LOL 🙂

    Like

    1. There are gremlins in WordPress Land – a guy I’ve followed forever ‘liked’ this post, which showed up in my app notifications, but the button next to him said “follow” not “following” – I re-followed, but wonder how that happened?!? 🙂

      Like

      1. That happend to me too, to a lady I had been following for a long while… Then her posts stopped coming in, I was absent a while and later she commented.. I clicked back to her site to find her post had been frequent and I was followed.. I have read others have experienced the same.. So Yes a few Gremlins at work.. 😦

        Like

  2. I think there are lots of people who have affected me who have no clue how they have. In small and big ways. They are the type of people who I’d like to get together for a big dinner and sit around and catch up.

    Like

    1. I hear ya! My dad and I used to have the conversation of ‘who would you like to sit down and have a beer with?” It started as an exercise in history, but after awhile, we would mention people we had observed or strangers we had shortly interacted with – – I suppose, most writers have this kind of experience – we just can’t help wanting to know the story! 🙂

      Like

      1. Yep. Sometimes the smallest gesture from a stranger can be the most appreciated and can open the door to more. I almost never think of famous people when it comes to “who would you want to have a beer with.” I’ve never been a worshipper of the well-known. Give me a chance though to sit and have a beer with my high school history teacher or a co-worker from 15 years ago who meant something to me back then or any number of people from my past. That’s what is like to do.

        Like

Leave a Reply

