Spring Cleaning

How Long do I have to Scroll and Refresh to Get to What I Want?

I just went through my “Blogs I follow” list and made some deletions –

If you received notice of such and think I’ve treated you unfairly, here was the criteria of why I chose to not follow you anymore:

  1. You haven’t posted in 2 years
    • Sorry, I understand Life happens and I, myself, am guilty of being a bloggy slacker – but seriously, my only rule of thumb was, I had a stroke in late 2011 that left me walking, talking and typing funny and still managed to hit the publish button for 2 posts in 2012 and at least 10 previous posts for the past 14 months – This is purely my own rule-of-thumb/slanted perspective and you are free to disagree with the methods of my madness.
  2. I scanned through your most recent posts and was not immediately dying to read at least one of them – nothing against you –
    • You may have changed –
    • I may have changed –
    • In the end, doesn’t matter – not a good fit anymore for either of us
  3. I didn’t recognize your name/title/gravatar in the list, clicked on your blog title and was only given an “RSS Feed” icon – with nothing to let me know if you’re still writing or not OR whether we are still ‘in sync’ or not, etc
    • Let me add, when trying to figure out why error messages to delete blogs from Follow list and Unfollow Folks made me determined to do things “Right” before complaining to WordPress.com – I have to say, if it takes me 3 clicks to get to where I can unfollow you without errors being thrown, then I’m already ticked off and cussing –

I Still Mourn the Loss

Yes, I went from 227 blogs followed down to 134 –

I wondered what had happened to those who hadn’t blogged in 2 years –

Especially those who talked about health issues, Life in Transition from areas of the world where I would quake to live in –

Yes – I wondered why – if you ever stumble across this article and it triggers a, “Hey! Tamrah Jo unfollowed me when LIFE got so hairy, I didn’t blog because I couldn’t get out of bed to the computer or figure out the password for my lap top – Or it was Unsafe – or I was flying off the grid – Please know, I am so glad you are still alive and safe to access the internet and read!

Some of you Didn’t Have to Play by the Rules

Yes, Yes, I had ‘standards’ for deciding when I embarked on the process, but if I’ve Emailed with you – shared comments at 2AM (my time) with you – if you’ve sent a comment to check and see how I’m doing when I go ‘dark’ – EVEN if you’re now onto a passion/pursuit/bandwagon I’m not into, I didn’t delete you –

Why?

Cuz you’re Family

Family sticks together even when we don’t understand fully why so-and-so is approaching life in a certain way –

🙂

If I only subscribed to an RSS feed and accidentally unfollowed spectacular You! Please forgive me – I have no doubt we’ll meet up again if we’re meant to –

Except for posting a support thread, the process was relatively painless, tech-wise

(May I say again that while I understand the reasons for WordPress.com to go forward in the manner it has been doing, I still, REALLY, REALLY hate learning this new crap and fumbling around with 3 clicks to do what used to just take one….)

In the End

I got through today’s ‘duties’ in better shape than I thought I would –

  • Yes, I will mourn  lost connections, no matter how small or infrequent  –
  • Yes, I will wonder, “Whatever happened to so-and-so?” –
  • Yes, I will be more careful before hitting the “follow” button, instead of just the “like” or “comment” options – I can’t bear the pain of doing this every year!

It’s all a journey – I hope my journey didn’t cause you pain or angst – 🙂

P.S. – Do me a favor – go to your Blogs I follow List – Find Me – TamrahJo – with my little D icon bathed in purple/blue/green gradient and try to delete, or unfollow, or what have you – were you successful in one-click or less without an error message?  Let me know your pain/angst/was easy-peasy feedback via a comment!  Thanks!

4 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning”

  1. I have to go see if you unfollowed me. 🙂 And yes, I wonder, too about people who disappear. Was blogging not what they thought? Are they dead? Or is it something in the wide area between those two? Unsolvable mysteries….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I generally do the reader review. If I realize that I keep going past certain blogs in my reader without really clicking through to read their posts, it’s time to delete them. I have no idea how many I follow, but I rarely add new ones these days. The ones I read regularly can probably be counted on my fingers and toes without having to go over a finger or two a second time.

    I was really into the expanding of my blogging world a couple of years ago. I no longer care about that. It’s one of those things that can take over my world. Kind of like the ability to never stop exploring new music on Spotify. At some point all of the possibilities and options and opportunity for “new” eventually turns me off.

    Like

    1. Tired of being judged for showing cards
      Wish for more Free communication
      Do not understand the masks people hide behind
      My attempt to “Be what I wish to see in the world” again…
      Lol
      🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

