Tombstones

What is your message carved in stone for the long term?

This spring I’ve been battling my own demons –

Need to get the youngest off to college, cover the gap and budget to make sure he doesn’t graduate with so much debt- whilst he figures, not worth Filling Out 76 Scholarship apps -okay if some debt when he graduates, if he doesn’t get enough work-study/work hours –

I have been nagging said youngest’s butt about grades/scholarships/to-do lists when both he and I are fighting hard to not give into the terror of reality,

“You can do things right, not be breaking the law and you, too, can die after you graduate and before your 18th birthday” – cuz we know!  That kind of stuff happens – just as it did to my (oldest son/older brother), comin’ up on 8 years ago -“

No, don’t ask me why I’m adding extra stuff on top – I’m still trying to figure it out myself….

Yes – me and the man-child unit each have our own struggles this spring – and another one loomed on the horizon, recently –

For other personages, wouldn’t it be really nice if a proper tombstone was in place – for the oldest son – instead of the small marker?

And I think,

“Okay I have recovered enough, financially, I can do that – But since I have the space next to it, for me, wouldn’t it be cheaper to just get one stone to span them both, and cross my tombstone of the list for later, or someone else’s list?”

 

And so, I’ve been thinking about my own death – what works for me BUT won’t hurt those left behind shell-shocked from my obvious disregard for decorous/socially acceptable epitaph(s) –

I know what Morgan loved right before he left the plane of daily interaction with us –

Here’s the quote that goes on his side:

“While we have the gift of Life, it seems to me the only tragedy is to allow part of us to die – whether it is our spirit, our creativity or our glorious uniqueness” – Gilda Radner 

And here’s the one I finally decided upon,  to be smaller and spread around the stone that creates a bench/works for my side – cuz seriously, isn’t it nice to have a seat, when you’re visiting your loved ones?  So you can sit and visit for awhile?  Enjoy the birds, trees, sun, while you commune?

Storyteller’s Creed:
I believe that imagination is stronger than knowledge.
That myth is more potent than history.
That dreams are more powerful than facts.
That hope always triumphs over experience.
That laughter is the only cure for grief.
And I believe that love is stronger than death.” – Robert Fulghum

**********

And I seriously don’t know why this post has lingered in perpetual ‘draft’ status, for oh-so-long –

Because both Morgan and I know, things change – and, seriously, someone, somewhere, has a sandblaster/chisel set – and will come to the rescue, just in case, we each change our mind about long term messages – 🙂

Leave a Reply

