38 Hours and Counting…

…Only 34 hours left to go – till life gets better –

Nothing big, or earth shattering – I simply quit smoking yesterday morning, and the first 72 hours, for a nic-addict, such as myself, feels rather like hades on earth – without the heat – and ugly horned fellas (unless, of course, I look in the mirror….)

And this morning, a tad before the first 24 hours were up… I awoke to the dark, moist earth – kissed by heavy fog/frost – but a warm spring sun that left the birds singing to the heavens, and the ‘fresh as a daisy’ smell over my lil’ place –

Why I was surprised at how fast things happened, do not ask me – Spring surprises me every year, even though I should know better –

On Monday, I was gifted a belated Easter Gift – the first hint that I’d better be getting my sprouting potatoes from last month/last year in the ground AND be checking on weeding activities –

Spring Herald
Spring Herald

This a.m., I did some early weeding, and wondered, just why, none of the annual Welsh Onions, Jerusalem Artichokes or Wild Lettuces had shown up yet, while so many other things are waking up:

Rhubarb - not a big surprise - but still -where's the lettuce?!?
Rhubarb – not a big surprise – but still -where’s the lettuce?!?

And of course, I really ought to get my ‘winter blankies’ pulled off beds, but there’s plenty of time, and who knows, for sure, how many blizzards are left in the season?

Irises0316
Irises with winter blanket not cleared yet

If the spring storms and frosts aren’t too heavy/cold, maybe I’ll have a tree full of purple, here, soon:

LilacBuds0316
Lilacs building their buds to burst forth in wonder!

Wouldn’t ya know? Β The wild roses and golden currants planted last spring, around this time, are waking up, big time, already:

Wild Rose - no, it wasn't dancing, I simply didn't take a good picture! :)
Wild Rose – no, it wasn’t dancing, I simply didn’t take a good picture! πŸ™‚
More of the Golden Currant plants that suffered from lack of supplemental water/weeding last July, while I recovered from the accident, actually survived, than I thought would - -
More of the Golden Currant plants that suffered from lack of supplemental water/weeding last July, while I recovered from the accident, actually survived, than I thought would – –

I would have taken a picture of day lilies and tulips – the native grasses starting to green up and blessing the land of beige and gray, I’ve looked at for oh-so-long – but when I went out to take pictures, this afternoon, to share with you the beauty of this morning’s ‘get rid of angst, by touching the earth…” – well – I had to hurry –

For don’t ya know – the it was cold and windy as the next snow storm rolled in –

WinterRollsIn0316

**********

Friday will truly be a big TGIF, this week – for the physiological and brain chemistry changes in the first 72 hours after a nic-addict quits feeding their habit is one, great, big roller-coaster ride – and no matter how good it is for me, ultimately, the first 72 makes me wonder who wants to live that long, anyways?!?

Thank goodness for Starburst flavored Jelly Beans – for you know, the dark ones are grape flavored – not black licorice –

Yes… I’m counting my many blessings…

Happy Hump-Day Wednesday! πŸ™‚

15 thoughts on “38 Hours and Counting…”

  1. How’s You?… Don’t go and burn yourself out with all of the alterations, planning and expanding.. But I guess those hands have to do something now LOL.. πŸ˜‰
    Know I am rooting for you Tamrahjo..
    Sending you Love

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am hangin’ in there – have 2 posts sitting in draft status – trying to get adequately described all the projects, changes, activities flying around my world, just now! BUT hit a cool sale AND promotional savings and just ordered all cedar wood to get my square foot gardening beds (5) done on south (protected, able to winter garden) side and the parts to build my moveable, multi-functional, extendable frames for (mini green house, cold frames, hail protection, rabbit protection) ANDDD… My awesome finally decided upon, power tool set – I can’t wait to get delivery of supplies and get started!!! πŸ™‚
      Maybe, Finally, this year will be the year more of my place takes on the ‘form’ I first envisioned 3 years ago – πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I feel all excited for you πŸ™‚ and will look forward to the progress reports πŸ™‚ I am excited too, as I booked a holiday yesterday.. First one in two yrs.. πŸ™‚ So looking forward to that.. for my Birthday in a couple of weeks.. πŸ™‚ Happy DIY.. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hubby is down on the allotments as I type putting potatoes in πŸ™‚ and so pleased that you are Surviving beyond the 72 hour zone and the four legged ones have not been harmed by the blast of expletives over your not one but two broken can openers.. πŸ™‚ So Laughed out loud when I just read your reply to me on my post LOL..
    You are a tonic that should be bottled.. ( sure you can think of another great retort to this one lol )
    Garden is looking good.. And yes we were lulled into a false sense of spring as a heavy frost and bitter winds blew in yet again yesterday..
    Hope to share more on my Garden blog soon..

    Lovely that you caught up with me Tamarhjo.. πŸ™‚ you so make me smile.. Wish we were neighbours πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I just placed an ‘infrastructure’ order to complete my south side of the property plans – that are a year behind – trimmed down my seed order, because I ‘lost’ 16 packets of ‘new things’ to try, last year, when the summer spiraled out of control between man-child-unit sports injuries/surgeries and uninsured/unlicensed drivers running read lights – OMG! LOL I’m a year behind on the 5-year plan – – I’m trying to re-tool the ‘oasis’ plan to handle Life’s Lil’ Unexpecteds! BUT, sigh – so hope your Potatoes do well – I ordered dried reserves this year – doing permaculture/late spring/early summer planted crops, cuz I have electrical, drywall, insulation of 100+ home to get done, this year, so I can have a east/summer porch, to substitute as ‘green house’ till next winter – – LOL – Sigh – – Time is just too short, here – I’d need at least 3,000 years (if not more) to learn to do AND do WELL! All I want to do – – the curse of the Generalist! LOL

      Liked by 1 person

      1. WOW.. such a lot going on, I can see why you need at least 3,ooo yrs to get it completed.. πŸ™‚
        Planning ahead never comes to plan does it?..
        I was looking through all my seed packets I ordered.. then hubby produces a tin he had in the garage and shows me we had them already.. So at least Next year as they are still in date.. I will not need to order seeds πŸ™‚
        What sort of growing season do you have where you are? Your east summer porch sounds good.. At home our patio is south facing so we get sun ( when it shines in the UK most of the day ) ..
        I will be seeing you at yours very soon πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Well TamrahJo good luck with the quitting. I know it is not easy but you are a strong willed and orney enough woman to grab it and stick with it…..and your garden will grow after the snow goes away I am sure……we have had hot weather and rainy afternoons which means every weed known to mankind is flourishing like men possessed. Look forward to hearing how you get on…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had 6 ‘inherited’ plants hidden among bind weed and other malcontents, near the propane tank, when I moved it – didn’t get them all moved and transplanted, or missed a piece, because spotted two other poking their heads up in the old area – will need to get dug up and transplanted this fall – though if you are on a road trip and passing by, we could get them potted for you – LOL

      Like

      1. My always had rhubarb in her garden and rhubarb sauce was a staple food at her house. But her rhubarb was green, not the red rhubarb you see these days. So, when I started gardening, I got some rhubarb and planted it, even dug it out and took it with me on a move or two. Somewhere along the way, it died a few years ago and I never replaced it. I think it’s time to get it back.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yup! And i will try, for the 4th year in a row, to manage to get some strawberries established – sigh – but nothin’ like strawberry/rhubarb jam!! πŸ™‚

          Like

Leave a Reply

