The “Reminder Board”

Let’s face it – My heart and my mind are still spinning up dreams my body and brain just ain’t always up for accomplishing in the time frame I’d like –

And so, like any struggling personage, I have 3 cork board squares and two magnetic white boards that hang on the wall over my work desk, to keep me on target – Me own lil Reminder Board.

Now, given your knowledge of me being the sticky note queen, and my love of legal pads, writing notes on back of used envelopes, etc., you might think my board full of scribbled to-do notes in code only understandable by me –

But, you’d be wrong – cuz my Reminder Board is to inspire and remind me why I choose to do what I do and how I do it – to remind me of the times I got it right and cheer me up, when I fail to do as well I hoped to –

In short, it’s full of cards sent to tell me thank you, birthday missives from folks who know what I love, what I appreciate or what makes me laugh – gifts that tell me, someone took the time to think of me, drive all the way to the post office and actually get the package mailed to me…

Why am I telling you this?  Because today, I arrived at the Post Office to find a yellow card notice that I had a package, that wouldn’t fit into my tiny box – which confused me, cuz I haven’t ordered anything lately –

Sure enough, yes, there is a package, addressed to me and I look to see who it is from, and nearly burst into tears, because, half-way across the world, there is one who is raising a family, has way more on her plate than I do, and still finds the time to send me lil surprise packages, whose offspring will most likely be married with families of their own before I get the crate of Barbie dolls/clothes sorted, and gift boxes compiled to send.

And so, today, I took the time to rearrange the board, to display all the reminders of those who took the time to let me know they cared – those who forgive me when I’m not at my best – those who I try my best to support, make laugh and walk this journey with – cuz ya know, in the end, for me?

My great experience of this life is found in the connections made – the chance to see the world through another’s eyes – and the warm house of community when I’m tired, discouraged and wondering, “What’s it all for, really?” – Those in my circle, each in their own ways – through surprise packages, a phone call, a text, a smile and hug when I’m foaming at the mouth and ready to start me own lil revolution, who say, “It’ll be okay – we still love you, even though you’re being a lil unreasonable, or silly, or misinformed, just now…”

I truly believe that our greatest achievements happen when we not only think of ourselves, but of what lil ways we can cheer and enrich the lives of those we come into contact with –

And so, I’ll leave you with the updated Reminder Board picture – included are some items over 3 years residency, here in my world and new reminders of recent special days shared with wonderful spirits – a dragon fly hairpin that marks a day spent at the Celtic Fair with three who were willing to put up with my tendency to stop and ask each ‘clan’ what their favorite story from their clan history is – and would they tell me – (yes, yes, as soon as I get my customers taken care of, insulate my house in time for the forecasted hard winter, I’ll share with you, too – 🙂

There are the bracelets I purchased to remind me of the magical afternoon I walked on the hard-asphalt track alongside my best friend from high school, who pledged and did, 25 miles this year, to raise money that goes for the lil things not covered while a family fights to help their loved one beat cancer – gas money, parking/highway tolls, grocery money, cuz the family budget took a hit while one is busy at the job of healing….

And the card that features the elephant drawing done by an autistic boy, because my friend remembers my take, ‘I just think we need to learn better how to see the gifts, instead of trying to demand everyone be ‘normal’ (“normal” is such a moving target, ain’t it?)

The friend who remembers and takes the initiative to introduce me to all the beautiful stories and creations of those who fight so hard, just to find their place in a world that gives lip service to their needs, while keeping systems in place that treat them as broken –

and always, always, the notes, handwritten, that say, “I see you, the real you, I remember how important (such and such is) to you –  and I’m still here – ”

I know I have been very quiet, that I have failed to do my part in community, here, but, I’m deep in observation mode and feel the deep transformations that are occurring, daily.  It may surprise you to learn, there are some experiences that I simply fail to find the words to convey – at least for awhile.  It’s easy to do a quick, superficial post at Facebook, to let folks not worry that you’ve died or disappeared – not so easy here – for, I know you know, I can do better than that ‘tripe’  – (which is why I love it here…really….)

Thank you New Bloggy Cat – your lil missives via email and snail mail never fail to amaze, surprise and cheer me – and yes, A Mind Divided, two of your hand-crafted cards hang above my desk; alas,  they were too special and I couldn’t bear to part with them – the others I ordered have been gifted to very wonderful people, who loved and treasure them and your attention to quality and detail –  thank you! 🙂

And now…Ta-Da! The Reminder Board

ReminderBoard

P.S. Someday, I’ll share pictures of my Reminder Rock Shelf, Reminder Bookcase and Reminder Angel Display – My whole house is based upon Reminder Areas – 🙂

5 thoughts on “The “Reminder Board””

    1. Yes, Pat is lovely, as are you. I have such a wonderful community here. Still treading to keep my head above the daily waters of “to dos” but slowly and surely, more things getting back to manageable. 🙂 what a past year this has been. Hope to have things tidy and back to maintaining mode in order to kick the New Year off with new goals instead of clean up from strung out projects. Lol

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh, you’re very welcome, Tamrah! The girls are delighted that the gifts travelled halfway round the world and had now landed safely on your Reminder Board. Thanks for posting the photo! (*’∀’人)♥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

