One Bright Day…

“One bright day, in the middle of the night.

Two dead boys stood up to fight.

Back-to-back, they faced each other.

Drew their swords and shot each other.

The deaf policeman heard the noise,

Came and killed the two dead boys.

If you don’t believe what I say is true,

Ask the blind man, he saw it too.”

**********

I do not know if this is an excerpt or complete recitation of a poem.

I learned the verse in childhood.

I cannot tell you who wrote it, or from what era it comes from, and not sufficiently curious enough to research in order to know for certain – if you do know, or wish to know, have at it and feel free to leave your findings or knowledge in the comment section.  I have no need to research, for I think the basic truths are there for anyone to comprehend.

Dad was also rather fond reciting his version of a Pogo quote:

I have spotted the enemy – They is Us.

 

Dad lived the verse and the quote

So many years later, I think the reason I remember the verse and quote is due to Dad’s frequency with recitation of them.

When he saw others stumbling along lost

When he recognized his own blindness,

When he knew not if Now came about through his own obliviousness or that of those around him or the world he inhabited…

He recited, shared, repeated.

**********

Today reminded me of both verse and quote.

Tonight, I’m still unsettled – and I can hear my dad’s voice intoning that which I already am familiar with.

It is not easy to face yourself back-to-back.

I do promise not to draw my sword and shoot myself –

Basic sword smithing and combat is on the “Learn How-To List”  for 2020

Thus, I and the world should be safe for another 3 years or so – you know how clumsy I can be 🙂

5 thoughts on “One Bright Day…”

  1. The version I knew was only the first four lines. There was another one
    Admission free, pay at the door,
    Seats inside, sit on the floor
    See a live lion stuffed with straw,
    Eating cooked potatoes raw.
    My grandmother also used to say the one about the coffin that Salpal1 quoted..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My grandmother used to recite that verse, so it goes back at least to the early 1900s. She was born in 1909. She had a few little things like that -” twasn’t the cough that carried him off, ’twas the coffin they carried him off in” and “holy smoke the preacher shouted, as he madly tore his hair. Now his head resembles heaven, as there is no parting there.” Funny what we remember, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

